need help first time speaker desgin  

Page 1 / 2
  RSS

Toad
 Toad
(@toad)
Active Member Registered
27/07/2019 11:29 am  

hey guys this is my first time designing a crossover. i probably didnt pick the easiest drivers to design a crossover for but i like to learn things the hard way. the drivers im using are the dayton audio amt2-4 and dayton audio dsa-175. ive got the frequency graph looking the best that i can do and im not sure if it is actually good or not. if someone could help me out that would be great. i also dont know where to place the drivers in the box or if that matters and i dont know much about time and phase.

baker schematic
baker impedence
baker frequency response
baker box

thanks chad

Douglas Blake
(@douglas-blake)
Estimable Member Registered
28/07/2019 10:35 am  

I'm not the resident speaker expert, I was holding back, hoping one of them would have chimed in by now.

The computer graphs look good.  But do keep in mind they are just a starting point. It is likely the final crossover, after acoustic testing, will be something quite different. 

Also keep in mind that standard values of parts will change it quite a bit. For example it's very unlikely you will find an 8.5 uf capacitor... you'll probably have a choice between 8.2 and 10 which will affect the result.

Here is a list of standard values ... 

For the box, look at the way most speaker cabinets are set up. There is a reason for that... it works.

I've always favoured the sealed box design, to my ear (and admittedly limited testing) this has always given the most pleasing result although it can be a tad bass shy in some cases.  

ReplyQuote

123Toid
(@123toid)
Illustrious Member Admin
28/07/2019 10:38 am  

@toad