Emotiva: Shop Now

overcomplicated boombox build  

RSS

RobinVC
(@robinvc)
Active Member Registered
19/08/2020 8:31 am  

Hi there,

First post here, thanks for having me :D. Anyhow, I'm designing a boombox with with two tcp115-4 woofers and two ND25FW-4 tweeters and I'm having trouble with them.
Because the tweeter sits in a waveguide, the phasing is hard to get right (I'm basically guessing the z-offset). This is the crossover I came up with:

crossover wave v1

Which results in this frequency graph:

frequency wave v1

I added a 0.5 inch offset to the woofer to achieve this phasing. The graph slopes down to accomodate baffle step loss, but I'm not sure what dimension I needed to account for since the boombox is technically two bookshelfs sandwiched together (so do I measure twice the baffle width?).
I'm also new to crossover design, so i'm not sure if my values make sense at all haha. If possible I'd like to keep the cost of components down by keeping their values low, but that seems very unlikely.
There is also the impedance that's worrying me a bit. I've used a zobel, but the woofer's impedance still climbs up drastically:

impedance wave v1

I'd like to add that i'm just using the supplied fdr and zma files. I've got no measuring equipment other than a small "diy" mic and some experience with REW. I'd like to first try "getting close" before ordering components 🙂

So to sum it all up; If someone has more info on the drivers or z-offset or thoughts about the crossover or project in general, please feel free to comment. Thanks!

123Toid
(@123toid)
Illustrious Member Admin
20/08/2020 3:10 am  

Don't worry about the impedance going up unless you are using a tube amp to power it.  The only area to worry about with impedance is the 200hz range, but it looks to only dip to about 3.6 ohms, so it should be fine for a nominal 4 ohm amplifier.