Notifications
Clear all

XSim Power dissipation graph, risk of blowing speakers?

Chronic.sound
(@chronic-sound)
New Member Registered
Topic starter  

Hello, I'm a sophomore in college and am new to designing and building speakers. I am currently working on my first speaker building project ever!

I am making two two-way bookshelf speakers on a limited budget.

Woofer: Dayton Audio DC130B-8

Tweeter: Dayton Audio DC28F-8

I am currently using Xsim to design the crossover and I ran into a question removed link When I look at the power dissipation graph (amp is at 40watt) the curves for the tweeter and the woofer are both over their rated RMS. And when I set the amp to 100 Watt, both driver exceed their max Watt rating.

I was wondering if that was an issue and that I was running the risk of blowing out my speakers, or if I was missing something, or how I could fix this issue (without exploding my budget).

Any advice, comments or questions would be greatly appreciated as I am super excited to go on with this project but have been stuck because of this issue for a little over a month.

Thank you!

100 watt
40 watt
DC28F 8
DC130B 8

TVOR-Ceasar
(@tvor-ceasar)
Honorable Member Moderator

@Chronic.sound

First off, welcome to the forum! Glad to have you and we'll do everything we can to help out.

Second, links won't be available until after your 5th post, so we cannot see what you linked. (This keeps Spammers at bay)

Now, to your question(s).

While you can do what the manufacturers do and add up all the driver wattages to get a total, you really need to consider the main driver, i.e. the DC130B-8, for the real power dissipation since most of the energy will be in the lower frequencies. It takes more power to produce good bass than it does to produce good upper mid and high frequencies.