Air velocity and ch...

Air velocity and chuffing  

RSS

DKLexx1980
(@dklexx1980)
New Member Registered
19/10/2019 6:31 pm  

Hey Guys...

I'm dreaming about designing my own 5.1 set but im a complete novice speaker builder. Im trying to do my home work before jumping in the the shark infested waters which is speaker design😀. I don't intent to start from scratch for my first build, rather im planning to redesign some builds Ive found here and there on the web. 

I have a question regarding chuffing. When I play around with WINisd, it can show me the rear air velocity for a given port size - but what is/are the velocity/velocities that are acceptable. 

In one of 123Toids videos he says its 17 m/s without chuffing in his design. I can't remember the size of the port though. On audiojudgement's page he has an article says 10 m/s for non-flared and 30m/s for flared ports. So the question becomes how fast can the air flow be without creating any chuffing? Do any of you guys know how to calculate this. Are there any "rules of thumb". 

Hope one of you can help or at least point me in the direction of an answer.

Thanks in advance.

DKLexx

Regards
DKLexx

123Toid liked
Kevin Kendrick
(@kevin-kendrick)
Estimable Member Registered
19/10/2019 7:01 pm  

Good luck getting a hard and fast answer on that one. Some say 10% (35 meters per second)of the velocity of sound in air, some say 5% (17 meters per second). I've always aimed for 26 m/s or less which lands right in between the two. Have built numerous ported enclosures and never had a problem with that rate. Flared definitely helps. Good luck on your builds!

123Toid liked
ReplyQuote

DKLexx1980
(@dklexx1980)
New Member Registered
19/10/2019 10:24 pm  

@kevin-kendrick

Hey Kevin

Thanks for the reply even if it's not what I wanted to hear 🤔 😉 🤣 This is what i keep running into. DIY Speaker design is a lot of "some people say" 😊 and not so much 2+2=4.