Notifications
Clear all

DIY Concrete speakers  

RSS

DIYAudiphileElliottBridge
(@diyaudiphileelliottbridge)
Estimable Member Registered
14/02/2020 7:10 am  

As some of you may know I am a young audiophile, I am currently in my last year of A-levels in the UK and have started my exam project in DT. It is quite an arty course but I like to bring my technical skill into it anyway. I have decided to create a concrete speaker for it as the fluidity of concrete will allow me to make an "arty" type mould, and the fact that because concrete is so dense I will create a very inert cabinet. So I was wondering if anyone had any ideas for mix ratios and what aggregates to use for a smooth uniform finished concrete piece. I've heard of people making a cement mix instead but there are no pictures of how they turned out. If anyone could help me with this I would be very grateful. I do know that large aggregates like stones should be left out because of them sticking out of the surface, but I don't know to what extent. Thank you in advance, you guys have been great on the forum, you are very good people. 😀

123Toid
(@123toid)
Illustrious Member Admin
15/02/2020 1:02 am  

I haven't done this, but I would look up concrete countertop mix.  These are made to be nice and smooth, so I would think that would be a good mixture.  BUt that is purely a guess on my part.

ReplyQuote
TVOR-Ceasar
(@tvor-ceasar)
Reputable Member Registered
16/02/2020 10:16 pm  

Never worked with concrete in a non-structural situation, and it's always been delivered or from a ready-mix bag, so, here goes.