DIY Studio Monitors Project  

Page 1 / 2
  RSS

prod.arhan
(@prod-arhan)
Active Member Registered
16/06/2020 3:14 pm  

Hey guys,

I just started learning speaker design to design my own set of studio monitors. I wanted to be able to use them for music production. I’ve been doing some reading on design and watching some videos, and I’ve tried to come up with an active monitor design with a passive crossover. I have most of the stuff figured out, but my main problem is, I don’t know much at all about amps. Most of the time when I look for amps that I can use, there's always something about a subwoofer; however, my design in only a two way crossover design with a woofer and tweeter. 

Tweeter: Dayton Audio ND25FW-4 1" Soft Dome Neodymium Tweeter

Woofer: Dayton Audio DC250-8 10" Classic Woofer

Passive Crossover:

crossover ss

These are the drivers I’m using and my crossover design. Would it be possible to receive some guidance as to what possible amps I can use to keep an active speaker setup while keeping a low budget?  Just counting the drivers and crossover, my expense is about $220, and I want to try to keep my spending under $350 if possible. Also, any tips or corrections in my process or design would much appreciated!

Thanks,

Arhan 

TVOR-Ceasar
(@tvor-ceasar)
Reputable Member Registered
16/06/2020 9:08 pm  

First off, welcome to the group! It's good to have you here.

I see you are using the Dayton drivers so I'm going to go out on a limb and say that you are well aquatinted with Parts Express. 😀 It also sounds like you were looking under the "Speaker Components->Full Range Plate Amplifier" tabs. Even when sorted by price low to high and strictly 2 channel, you would hit up against your budget cap pretty quick.