Notifications
Clear all

Noob questions for my first project

Neostead
(@neostead)
New Member Registered
Topic starter  

Aloha folks,
I'm excited to join the realm of DIY speakers and start off with my first project. However, aside from one very basic electrical engineering course (enough to understand frequency responses, crossovers and such things, but not much more), I have no practical experience. Thus, I hope to get some answers before starting my first project here!
My intention is to build some mid-scale full range PA-speakers that can serve any purpose from HiFi listening at home to outdoor parties for around 100 (or optimally more) people. Looking for appropriate build plans online, I found Toid's "Soundstage 15" available on this site. Since the plans include everything from casing to crossover layouts, I'm almost ready to dive right in! Before I do, I wanted to clear some questions I've been asking myself though:

1. Batteries - This question doesn't have anything to do with the Soundstage, but I've been wondering: Originally I wanted to build a battery powered active system to be mobile when using the speakers outside. However, I don't ssem to be able to find batteries that aren't either huge (>30kg), super expensive or have a small capacity. So how do manufacturers like "Soundboks" manage to get long 8 hours of playtime at more than 200 Watts out of a small battery pack? And more importantly, is it possible to buy the kind of batteries (and I assume some kind of volage converter) needed to build speakers suitable for medium sized outdoor events without a huge budget?

Now the more important stuff: