Notifications
Clear all

Crossover design

Ramil
(@ramil)
Active Member Registered
Topic starter  

Hi all. I’m new on the hifi amps and speakers. I started a speakers project. Selected drives. Dayton rs270p-8a woofer, dayton rs125p-8 mid , dayton nd25fa-4 tweeter. Put all zma info and did the process in the passive crossover designer 8 as I learned on a youtube video. I studied the drivers curves and decided to make crossover at 500hz and 3500hz. I’ll add a picture of the graphic that I got. Let me know how it looks to you. Thanks.

52FCF971 9469 4A68 B1B0 AD880F6BE723

123Toid and hifisven liked
123Toid
(@123toid)
Illustrious Member Admin

@ramil

Since these aren't real measurements a few things you did not account for.  First is the baffle step loss. Second is the offsets.  You really should be estimating the Z offset, which will give you a better picture of what is going on. But it looks like you are on the right track. 

https://www.youtube.com/123toid

Ramil liked
ReplyQuote

Ramil
(@ramil)
Active Member Registered
Topic starter  

@123toid how do I do that? 😁😁

ReplyQuote
123Toid
(@123toid)
Illustrious Member Admin

Baffle step loss will really depend on the width of your baffle.  Here is a great video by Impulse Audio which talks about what BSC is 

A helpful site which will help determine your BSC loss is here.

The Z offset will literally be a guess, but you are trying to figure out the acoustic center of the tweeter in association to the woofer and mid.  This talks about the Zoffset:

For this, you could try to measure it based off the physical measurements of the driver, just to get an idea of what will work well with each other.  BUt you will eventually want to take your own measurements.

ReplyQuote

Bayilo
(@bayilo)
New Member Registered

I am trying to upload files so the forum can help with designing a passive crossover, but this forum website will not accept any of the following files: frd, zma, zip, rar, REW data, Xsim...