Do you guys come he...

Notifications
Clear all

Do you guys come here often?  

Nitrox
(@nitrox)
Active Member Registered
Topic starter  

Hey guys, I'm Sam. I work in the manufacturing industry (specifically, CNC software support) and I am an avid woodworker that's always trying to learn more and step out of my comfort zone. I recently got my hands on a small CNC router and I love the idea of making a set of custom speakers, as well as a subwoofer if possible. I have a ton of goals, but the first is to make a solid set of good to great speakers! Any help with crossovers would be greatly appreciated, as well as any hardware/driver recommendations - my goal would be to make 10"X6" set of speakers for my computer setup. Thank you guys for welcoming me here and I look forward to learning from you all!

123Toid liked
CAP
 CAP
(@cap)
Eminent Member Registered

Hi Sam. you'll probably do well by getting some extra equipment for speaker measurement if you're planning on going for highest fidelity possible but if not you can more or less tune "by ear", or guys in the forum can do it for you if you have driver data available. 

ReplyQuote

TVOR-Ceasar
(@tvor-ceasar)
Honorable Member Moderator

Sam,

Welcome to the Forum! And Happy 2021!

So you've got the woodworking chops, which is a nice chunk of this hobby. Good.

For the design aspect, you state a 10" x 6" desktop (size of my first speaker build!). I'm going to guess that's the face plate. Drivers, I wouldn't go any bigger than about a 4". Really, there are some 3" drivers that would do well, such as the Dayton Audio ND91 and PC83, and the FaitalPRO 3FE25. What kind of depth are you looking at and what is the thickness of the material you are thinking of using? This'll help determine some of the final performance parameters.

What kind of software are you looking at? There's lots of free stuff out there, mostly for Windows, though any of the Excel based ones should be cross platform.