Notifications
Clear all

Hello everybody!!

Ramil
(@ramil)
Active Member Registered
Topic starter  

I’m a guitars and tube amps builder in Puerto Rico. Recently I started two project for myself, a hifi tube amp based on a dynaco mk vi monoblock and a pair of speakers. I’ve been building tube amps for about four years, all guitar amps. This is my first hifi project. I’m ok with the amp thing but I’m kind of lost with the speakers enclosure thing.  I’ve read and watched youtube videos but still need to respond some questions. I downloaded apps to design cabs for speakers (bassbox pro) and crossover design but still need to know some tricks from plople with experience. So I’m here to learn and to give what I know. A pleasure. Blessings to all.

123Toid liked
Red Eye
(@red-eye)
New Member Registered

Hey Ramil hope you’re doing well.  I have a pretty good collection of guitar  tube amps my self. When it comes to building cabinets for audio speakers, the two couldn’t be further apart. The first thing you need to ask your self is, do I want a cabinet thats ok, or do I want a cabinet that is the best it can be. Being a tube amp Guy myself, I think I know the answer lol.    All good guitar amps are made out of Pine, Marshall, Vox, Fender,an so on. They do that for the tone, where distortion is welcomed, an sought after. In HiFi speakers I go the opposite way, trying to eliminate distortion from the cabinet enclosure it self. Now you need to think about the material you have available to you.  A LOT of diy Guys use MDF board to build there speakers. That’s OK. It’s cheap, inexpensive, an easy to work with. Myself I only use Baltic Birch plywood.  This is getting a little longer than I intended. If I can be of any help in the construction part, I would be happy to give my 2 cents 

ReplyQuote

123Toid
(@123toid)
Illustrious Member Admin