Hello From Malta

Page 1 / 2

TeT
 TeT
(@tet)
Active Member Registered
Topic starter  

Good Morning and Hello DIY Builders,

My name is Etienne, and I live in Sunny Malta Europe. For the last couple of months, I've been watching a lot of DIY videos including 123TOID and finally I made the courage to build my first set of speakers (LCR). I studied Telecommunication and Electronics 15 years ago and now I'm a Senior Network Engineer. I've been always a fan of home cinema and I always purchased speakers. Now I came to upgrade my Front Gold Monitor Audio speakers, but I decided not to spend all that money on something that i could build and could gain something more with less.

So, I’m currently planning my new L R speakers. (Centre to be planned after the result of the L R). And here is the big thing... I've been playing with WINISD and XSIM for quite some time now but now i think i homed on 2 possible builds.

After seeing 123toid interview with regards to the Dayton NEW EPIQUE Drivers I was thinking of building a 2 way with the Dayton E180HE-44 but I’m concerned with the sensitivity of the diver with regards to the lower midrange and midrange (250hz -2khz), most movies dialogue falls within that range so this raised a concern. Even if I place 2 drivers still the sensitivity would be on the low part.  What are your thoughts about it ? Would considering a 3 way with faital pro 6FE200 be better? But if I go for a 3 way would the Dayton E180HE-44 still make sense? Or Else I would be better to build a tower with the Cinema 6 Components and crossover and add an Ultimax UM8-22 8" ? and use an active DSP between the Cinema 6 Build and the Ultimax ? These are the questions that are coming to mind currently and i'm abit lost / confused. The Idea is to have them in a tower design, I already purchased 2 Inuke 1000DSP for these to be able to drive them.