Hi! Newbie seeking ...

Notifications
Clear all

Hi! Newbie seeking advice on home theater speakers.

Dave13
(@dave13)
New Member Registered
Topic starter  

Hi everyone!

I've been doing a bunch of Google and YouTube research, trying to climb this learning curve a bit.  Was really excited to find your videos and this forum.  Thank you for tons of great information!

This will be my first speaker build.  I have a lot of experience building furniture, so no concerns with the woodworking.  Have built a few MAMEs and things like that, so I enjoy trying new things.

But I am getting lost in the audio details and would love some advice.

My theater is in my basement and is about 17' wide.  Low ceiling of 7' 6".  The depth is a little weird.  The seating area is about 20' deep, but effectively there is no back wall.  (We have a long basement and this area is open to the rest of the basement).

The Cinema 6 V2 has me very intrigued.  I'm wondering if it is appropriate for my space or if I should be looking at something different?  That design seems to be about the top of my budget range.

I have read the whole $3500 speakers for $350 thread and saw a cool approach to modify the cabinet for a center speaker.  What do you think about using the V2 for left, right, and center, and then adding a sub?  Should I wait for your Cinema 10 design for surround speakers?  Any guesstimate on the cost of the Cinema 10?

I'm also open to thoughts on a reasonably priced receiver.  I am truly starting from scratch.  🙂

Thanks and great to meet you!

Dave

123Toid liked
123Toid
(@123toid)
Illustrious Member Admin

@dave13 first of all, that is awesome that you build mame cabinets! I'm in the process, planning process, of building one myself. I had one before I moved, but I had to destroy the cabinet to move it across country. So I still have all the components, but just need to reassemble and rebuild the cabinet. They are fun though, eh?