Forum

Vituix Cad v1, How ...

Vituix Cad v1, How accurate is this?  

RSS

Spencer Acoustics
(@spencer-acoustics)
Active Member Registered
12/10/2019 6:26 pm  

Hey guys. I've been trying different Dayton Audio RS speakers using Vituix and I'm not sure if the results are trustworthy. When I look at the spl graphs from Dayton, which are really flat, then I add a basic  crossover and suddenly those flat areas become a line of rolling hills with 5-6 db peaks and valleys all through out a large frequency band, sometimes 2-3000 width. Is it me?

RS150 mid
RS150 specs from Dayton

Any advice would help, this is my first attempt at designing my own crossover sooooooooo........

123Toid
(@123toid)
Illustrious Member Admin
12/10/2019 7:06 pm  

I personally don't used Virtuix Cad, but I'd love to take a look and see what is going on. Can you give some more details? Box size, crossover, drivers using, etc? 

ReplyQuote

DIYAudiphileElliottBridge
(@diyaudiphileelliottbridge)
Trusted Member Registered
13/10/2019 3:41 am  

I use virtuix cad 2.0 and it seems accurate when comparing to my other crossover simulators.

There were problems with 1.0 so I recommend upgrading because 2.0 fully works! Here is the link: https://kimmosaunisto.net/Software/VituixCAD/VituixCAD2_setup.exe

ReplyQuote
Spencer Acoustics
(@spencer-acoustics)
Active Member Registered
14/10/2019 3:13 pm  
Posted by: @123toid

I personally don't used Virtuix Cad, but I'd love to take a look and see what is going on. Can you give some more details? Box size, crossover, drivers using, etc?