Notifications
Clear all

DYNAS + DAC + Newie Questions  

RSS

mosterre
(@mosterre)
New Member Registered
30/04/2020 9:13 pm  

I am new in this DIY world, soon I will make my own DYNAS. I have some questions that I would like you to help me solve.

1. Is there any way to use only one power source for both speakers?

2. How can I connect them to the Cambridge Audio Dacmagic Plus Dac With Preamplifier

3. Is it necessary to connect the two RCA cables at the input of each speaker or can I only connect the right RCA in one and the left RCA in the other?

ImCoKeMaN
(@imcokeman)
Trusted Member Registered
02/05/2020 2:43 pm  

Hi @mosterre and welcome to the forum, let me see if I can help you out a little.

1: Short answer: No.  If you were to split the power of the speakers from one power source you would need a power supply that could handle double the amperage (10 amps) and I don't see those readily available, for a reasonable price.  I'm sure some could be found/made though.

2: you might want to check out this thread of how to connect to them to the BT receiver as it's similar, left to y adapter on left speaker, right to y adapter on right speaker:  https://toidsdiyaudio.com/community/postid/323/

3: The way the plate amp on these speakers works you will need the y adapter to hook up both the left and right inputs on each speaker.  This allows the amplifier to work at full power.

Hope this helps, if not, keep asking away.

ReplyQuote
mosterre
(@mosterre)
New Member Registered
02/05/2020 9:14 pm  

@imcokeman Thanks so much, it helped me a lot.

In the second question I was wondering if I can do this?

Sin título
 This can affect the sound quality?

ReplyQuote
ImCoKeMaN
(@imcokeman)
03/05/2020 9:18 am  

I would use the RCA outs with splitters as the cables would be cheaper and your Dinas aren't going to take advantage of the balanced signal.