Few Questions Before I Start My DINAS Build  

RSS

Luftfeder
(@luftfeder)
Active Member Registered
26/10/2019 8:59 am  

I'm an excellent woodworker and engineer and like to do a lot of DIY things ... so basically I'm dangerous on a lot of topics but expert in few ... I did build two different pairs of speakers about 30 years ago, so I figured its about time to do it again. BUT before I get started I had a few confirming / clarifying questions prior to starting my DINAS build.

I want to use a pair of DINAS in my office as bookshelf speakers across the room from my computer from which I will wirelessly steam my audio (Bluetooth or other protocol not yet decided) 

1) please critique my idea of making one DINAS as designed and then making one DINAS as a satellite without the subwoofer driver and plate amp. In the satellite in place of the lower driver I would put a power supply and the streaming receiver (Bluetooth or other). I would use the Plate Amp in the Main DINAS to drive the satellite. Granted, I lose the ability to tune left / right balance but I also don't need two power supplies and the attendant brick and wire management. I would make the box form factor the same so they look like a pair and maybe place a switch and power-on indicator led and antenna or something in the baffle space normally taken up by the woofer driver. IF this does make sense what polarity should be used for the satellite?

2) room placement - I assume these should be placed on the bookshelf with the tweeters below ear level when seated?