Notifications
Clear all

Looking for dac recommendations  

RSS

oneway
(@oneway)
Trusted Member Registered
24/04/2020 7:47 pm  

As the title says looking for dac recommendations. It will only be used for tv to two channel pioneer receiver. This is for my brothers system I’ve been working on lately. 

I have another thread discussing the issue he is having with the one he bought for his new tv. I’m not sure what he got dac wise but it’s a cheap one. There’s no gain on his current dac and the signal is weak compared to where it was to with the old tv and his other source signals. I have no experience using dacs so I’m not sure what would be a good dac. I see a lot of the are also head phone amplifiers? I’m wondering if the volume knob would work like a gain or if that’s completely separate? 

Also the one he has is optical to rca  

123Toid
(@123toid)
Illustrious Member Admin
25/04/2020 1:27 am  

Have you considered Shiit?  Their Modi and Sys combination might work for what he is trying to do. https://www.schiit.com/products/modi-1

ReplyQuote
oneway
(@oneway)
25/04/2020 4:36 am  
Posted by: @123toid

Have you considered Shiit?  Their Modi and Sys combination might work for what he is trying to do. https://www.schiit.com/products/modi-1

Yeah I was looking  at that one last night. Seen it has an output of 2v. Parts has a smsl that’s a little cheaper with 1.8v.  I had him take a picture of the one he had it’s a prozor didn’t see any model # and he said he couldn’t find one. I suspect I’d have a hard time finding specs for it anyway but it would be nice for comparison. He gave less than 20$ for it. 
he’s using a pro audio amp for the sub. It’s good when using other sources but pretty lack luster  through the dac. 

ReplyQuote
oneway
(@oneway)
25/04/2020 6:45 am  
Posted by: @123toid

looking at the schiit a little closer I see the input is toslink spdif. Would that work with the standard optical output on the tv going into the toslink input on the dac?

ReplyQuote